Defending Taylor

Defending Taylor

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Taylor, a senator's daughter, was captain of the soccer team and contender for valedictorian at her private school, but gets kicked out, sent to a rival high school, and soon she is falling for her brother's friend Ezra
Publisher: Naperville, IL : Sourcebooks Fire, [2016]
ISBN: 9781492630081
149263008X
Branch Call Number: YA FIC Kenneally, M 100.7 2016
Characteristics: 293 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

cmlibrary_khunter Feb 22, 2017

When Taylor Lukens makes one mistake that gets her kicked out of her private school and forced to go to the local high school, everything she’s worked for has been destroyed. She was on track to be valedictorian, soccer team captain, president of the debate team…but when she’s accused of taking drugs, not only her reputation is ruined but also that of her senator father who is running for re-election. As Taylor faces pressure at her new school, she also feels like her family is against her. The only one she feels like she might be able to trust is her older brother’s best friend, Ezra, but he’s also betrayed her in the past…

This wasn't my favorite of Kenneally's books, but I did like how despite everything falling apart for Taylor and everyone believing the worst in her (except Ezra), that she still displayed a good sense of right/wrong and behaved true to character.

b
bookycakes
Aug 09, 2016

Well, this was my very first Miranda Kenneally books, and I wasn’t disappointed! I had a lot of fun with this one, and I think it helped that I was in the mood for a light contemporary read. This felt like it was in the vein of First & Then– hometown sports, a little bit of conflict, but ultimately a romance taking center stage. I will have to say that I didn’t really like Taylor. I couldn’t relate to her for the most part, and though I understood her reasoning, I thought it was ridiculous the way she acted on her reasoning. But I loved Ezra, and thought that the conflict was just enough to make it- well, a novel- but not enough to make this what you might call a ‘serious read.’ The forgiveness came quickly (maybe even too quickly?) and so did the happiness. I don’t have much to say about this one other than it was an easy, fun read, perfect for a weekend or beach outing. Four stars, overall, because I didn’t really connect with the characters as well as I have with other books like this.

** Cupcake match to this book on my website (link in profile!)

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KHCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top