Secrets of A Summer Night

Secrets of A Summer Night

eBook - 2004
Average Rating:
10
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Desperate to save her family from ruin, Annabelle Peyton plans to use her beauty and wit to marry a wealthy aristocrat, but her plans are undermined by the intriguing Simon Hunt, who offers seduction but not marriage.

HARPERCOLL

Four young ladies enter London society with one common goal: they must use their feminine wit and wiles to find a husband.So a daring husband-hunting scheme is born.

Annabelle Peyton, determined to save her family from disaster, decides to use her beauty and wit to tempt a suitable nobleman into making an offer of marriage. But Annabelle's most intriguing—and persistent—admirer, wealthy, powerful Simon Hunt, has made it clear that while he will introduce her to irresistible pleasure he will not offer marriage. Annabelle is determined to resist his unthinkable proposition . . . but it is impossible in the face of such skillful seduction.

Her friends, looking to help, conspire to entice a more suitable gentleman to offer for Annabelle, for only then will she be safe from Simon—and her own longings. But on one summer night, Annabelle succumbs to Simon's passionate embrace and tempting kisses . . . and she discovers that love is the most dangerous game of all.


The Wallflowers

Four young ladies at the side of the ballroom make a pact to help each other find husbands . . . no matter what it takes

Proud and beautiful Annabelle Peyton could have her pick of suitors—if only she had a dowry. Her family is on the brink of disaster, and the only way Annabelle can save them is to marry a wealthy man. Unfortunately her most persistent admirer is the brash Simon Hunt, a handsome and ambitious entrepreneur who wants her as his mistress.

Annabelle is determined to resist Simon's wicked propositions, but she can't deny her attraction to the boldly seductive rogue, any more than he can resist the challenge she presents. As they try to outmaneuver each other, they find themselves surrendering to a love more powerful than they could have ever imagined. But fate may have other plans—and it will take all of Annabelle's courage to face a peril that could destroy everything she holds dear.



Baker
& Taylor

Desperate to save her family from ruin, beautiful Annabelle Peyton plans to use her beauty and wit to tempt a suitable--and wealthy--aristocrat into marriage, but her plans are quickly undermined by the attentions of the intriguing Simon Hunt, who offers seduction but not marriage, in the first volume of a new romance series. Original.

Publisher: New York : PerfectBound, 2004
ISBN: 9780060791926
0060791926
Branch Call Number: eBook--Adult

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

bwortman Dec 07, 2016

I enjoyed this historical romance thoroughly. Kleypas sets up a lovely premise with the four wallflowers working together to snag a husband in the difficult market of the early Victorian era. Watching Annabelle and Simon's relationship develop is a thorough delight and the denouement was actually a surprise for me as the final conflict was not what I had anticipated. I'll be picking up the other books in this series and Kleypas has made my list of authors to pick up when I'm in the mood for a historical romance.

m
marthabwaters
Nov 24, 2015

This is an excellent series-opening romance, focusing on four wallflowers who make a pact to help each other attract husbands. Annabelle Peyton is the heroine of this first installment, and the story of her romance with a wealthy man of common birth is unusually astute when it comes to social issues and the ways that the world of the aristocracy was changing in the face of industrialism in the mid-19th century. But beyond that, it's also just a really fun book! There's lots of witty banter and humor, and the hero and heroine are exceedingly well-matched. Highly recommended for fans of Julia Quinn and Eloisa James, though this setting of this one is a bit later than theirs.

booklady1 Jan 12, 2013

Superbly written and well paced,this book thoroughly entertains as It follows the escapades of the wallflowers young ladys...has they make way In upper-crust london society...funny! with a bit of mayhem, humor, and enough sensuality to please all of us readers, I love It!!!

s
Sarah1984
May 13, 2012

Really enjoyed this first in a four-part series. I liked the tension and fun between Annabelle and Simon and I also liked the personalities of the other girls, especially the American debutantes Lilian and Daisy, who seem fiery and good heroines for future books in the series.

mark445 Dec 13, 2011

Great series

j
JensieCrazyCatLady
Dec 08, 2011

I just read this, book one in the wallflowers series. Loved it! It is the first romance novel I've ever read and now i'm hooked! Just about to begin book 2, Autumn.

k
kclynn89
Jul 15, 2011

The wallflower series is amazing!

b
bronwynp
Jun 11, 2011

very good historical romance. Very well written.

t
thompson4some
Jul 25, 2010

book 1

erysimum Nov 04, 2009

Many romance novels only have one main female character, and any other women who appear are irrelevant or evil. Lisa Kleypas starts off this series by introducing 4 women who are all friends and want to help each other! It's great to see a romance that addresses the many kinds of relationships that are important.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KHCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top