The Civil War, A Narrative

The Civil War, A Narrative

Book - 1986
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
Foote's comprehensive history of the Civil War includes three compelling volumes: Fort Sumter to Perryville, Fredericksburg to Meridian, and Red River to Appomattox. Collected together in a handsome boxed set, this is the perfect gift for any Civil War buff.

Fort Sumter to Perryville

The first volume opens with Jefferson Davis's farewell to the United States Senate and ends on the bloody battlefields of Antietam and Perryville, as the full, horrible scope of America's great war becomes clear.

Fredericksburg to Meridian
Focused on the pivotal year of 1863, the second volume of Shelby Foote’s masterful narrative history brings to life the Battle of Gettysburg and Grant’s Vicksburg campaign and covers some of the most dramatic and important moments in the Civil War.

Red River to Appomattox

This final volume brings to life the military endgame, the surrender at Appomattox, and the tragic dénouement of the war—the assassination of President Lincoln.

Baker & Taylor
Follows the course of the war from 1862 to 1864, discusses the strategies of both sides in major battles, and assesses the performance of the Union generals

Publisher: New York : Vintage Books, 1986, ©1958-©1974
Edition: First Vintage Books edition
ISBN: 9780394749136
Branch Call Number: 973.7 Foote
Characteristics: 3 volumes : maps (some color) ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Feb 27, 2018

Shelby Foote was Ken Burns' historian for his CIVIL WAR documentary. This three volume series is one of the best ever written. Reliably researched.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at KHCPL

To Top