Grift Sense

Grift Sense

Book - 2001
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Misanthropic ex-cop and freelance "grifter hunter" Tony Valentine is called in to find swindler Frank Fontaine, who vanished leaving Nola Briggs, a blackjack dealer caught on camera helping him cheat, to take all the heat, but an ingenious scheme to have Nola help him find Fontaine plunges Valentine into a deadly world of hustlers, corrupt cops, and bloodthirsty hit men.

Blackwell North Amer
Meet Tony Valentine - former cop, lifelong misanthrope, and sixtysomething freelance grifter-hunter. There isn't a pit boss from the boardwalk of Atlantic City to Las Vegas' main drag who hasn't called on Valentine to dump the grifters out with the trash. He has never thought twice about seeing every one of them rot in jail.
Then along comes his new job. Her name is Nola Briggs, a honey-blond blackjack dealer from Las Vegas who's behind bars without a prayer in the world. Unless you count Valentine - and even he wouldn't bet on her innocence.
Likewise Nick Nicocropolis, the owner of the Acropolis Casino & Resort. He's got Nola on camera playing crooked blackjack to a shark named Frank Fontaine. Now Frank has disappeared, leaving his alleged accomplice to take the heat. All Valentine's got to play with is Nola. She isn't saying a word. Valentine's plan: post a reasonable bail, turn her loose, and see how - and where - she runs.
Shadowing a woman like Nola leads Valentine into a lethal world of greedy hustlers, bloodthirsty hit men, corrupt police, and a Las Vegas underworld that's taking him down with it.

Baker
& Taylor

Misanthropic ex-cop and freelance "grifter hunter" Tony Valentine is called in to find swindler Frank Fontaine, who vanished leaving Nola Briggs, a blackjack dealer caught on camera helping him cheat, to take all the heat.

Simon and Schuster
grift sense n 1: the instinct for spotting a scam
2: the knack for hustling a hustler 3: the ability to out-con a con
4: what Tony Valentine has in spades
Meet Tony Valentine -- former cop, lifelong misanthrope, and sixtysomething freelance grifter-hunter. He's also something of a legend -- and not just among the retirees of Palm Harbor, Florida. There isn't a pit boss from the boardwalk of Atlantic City to Las Vegas' main drag who hasn't called on Valentine to dump the grifters out with the trash. He has never thought twice about seeing every one of them rot in jail. So much for his sentimental side. Then along comes his new job. Her name is Nola Briggs, a honey-blond blackjack dealer from Las Vegas who's behind bars without a prayer in the world. Unless you count Valentine -- and even he wouldn't bet on her innocence. Likewise Nick Nicocropolis, the owner of the Acropolis Casino & Resort. He's got Nola on camera playing crooked blackjack to a shark named Frank Fontaine. Now Frank has disappeared, leaving his alleged accomplice to take the heat. All Valentine's got to play with is Nola. She isn't saying a word. Valentine's plan: post a reasonable bail, turn her loose, and see how -- and where -- she runs. Shadowing a woman like Nola leads Valentine into a lethal world of greedy hustlers, bloodthirsty hit men, corrupt police, and a Las Vegas underworld that's taking him down with it. He counted on that; what he didn't count on is just how innocent Nola appears to be when her past starts showing. Or how many people want her out of the picture. Unfortunately neither Nola nor Valentine knows why. And it's going to be tough as hell for them to survive an enemy's vendetta when they don't know who their enemies are -- or where they're hiding. With its bullet-fast pace, triple-crossing plot twists, diamond-hard prose, winning characters, and neon-soaked setting, Grift sense marks the ascendancy of an author with a "been-there, done-that" attitude -- and a talent for the literary sucker punch in the tradition of Laurence Shames and Elmore Leonard.

Publisher: New York, NY : Pocket Books, [2001]
Copyright Date: ©2001
ISBN: 9780743406222
0743406222
Branch Call Number: MYS Swain, J 200.1 2001
Characteristics: 304 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KHCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top