The Least Likely Bride

The Least Likely Bride

Book - 2000
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
Brimming with passion, laced with humor, Jane Feather's tantalizing historical romances have been called "well-written and fast-moving...entertaining" (Booklist) and "great fun" (Publishers Weekly). Now the New York Times bestselling author of The Accidental Bride makes her exciting hardcover debut with this irresistible tale of a bookish beauty who has never met a man who could best her, tempt her, or seduce her...until now.
Brimming with passion, laced with humor, Jane Feather's tantalizing historical romances have been called "brilliantly crafted" (Affaire de Coeur) and "vastly entertaining" (Rendezvous). Now the nationally bestselling author of The Accidental Bride makes her exciting hardcover debut with this irresistible tale of a bookish beauty who has never met a man who could best her, tempt her, or seduce her--until now.
-->
One moment Lady Olivia Granville is strolling along a path, her nose buried in a tome of Greek philosophy; the next she is plunging down a rocky cliff. Only when she regains consciousness--naked and unwittingly trapped on an unknown ship--does she discover that she owes her life to a stranger who is clearly not a gentleman!

Wickedly handsome, disturbingly mysterious, the gray-eyed master of the Wind Dancer admits to making his living from the sea. But it doesn't take long for Olivia to realize that the rogue who'd so intimately tended her wounds is a brash pirate whose schooner is bearing down upon a Spanish galleon. She knows she should be appalled. Instead Olivia is shockingly entranced...and recklessly attracted to an outlaw whose gaze holds both challenge and invitation.

Anthony Caxton has known from the first that Olivia Granville is no ordinary woman. But who would have thought that the sheltered daughter of a marquis would have a genuine taste for piracy? Delighted by her response, teased by her beauty, he welcomes her as the newest of his crew, confident that it is only a matter of time before he wins her surrender.

Yet even as Olivia welcomes his embrace, she remains unaware that Anthony is harboring a devastating secret...one that will lead them to heartache, scandal, and betrayal. For Anthony is much more than a common pirate. He is the mastermind behind a perilous plot of royal intrigue that could change the course of history.

And in this enterprise his opponent is none other than Cato Granville...Olivia's father. Anthony knows the success of his scheme--and his very life--depends upon minute planning, on anticipating every possible difficulty. But he never imagined that he would fall in love with the daughter of his most formidable enemy. And he never dreamed that the dangerous game he was playing would leave Olivia vulnerable to the attentions of a cunning villain--one who wants to possess the dark-haired temptress almost as much as he wants to see Anthony Caxton hang....


THE LEAST LIKELY BRIDE is Olivia--young, chronically shy, and addicted to ancient Greek literature.  As she walks on the sands of an island off the coast of England, her nose buried in a book, she takes a fall -- and wakes up days later on what seems to be a pirate ship.  Her captor, though, is no ordinary pirate.  He possesses the skills of both a physician and an artist.  He is also the most gorgeous male Olivia has ever encountered.  Most disconcerting of all, when he looks at her, he sees--not the stammering, hopelessly bookish young girl Olivia has always been--but a desirable, beautiful woman.

Feather weaves together plot and passion into a mesmerizing whole that is perfect for fans of Julie Garwood.  THE LEAST LIKELY BRIDE is timed for the first Valentine's Day of the millennium--and will launch a new chapter in this author's already impressive career. -->

Baker & Taylor
A shy, bookish young girl with a taste for ancient Greek literature, Olivia is stunned when an accident leads to captivity aboard a pirate ship, captained by a dashing and handsome rogue whose attentions transform her into a desirable and beautiful woman

Baker
& Taylor

A shy, bookish young girl with a taste for ancient Greek literature, Olivia is stunned when an accident leads to captivity aboard a pirate ship, captained by a dashing and handsome rogue whose attentions transform her into a desirable and beautiful woman.

Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, [2000]
Copyright Date: ©2000
ISBN: 9780553801576
0553801570
Branch Call Number: ROM Feather, J 400.3 2000
Characteristics: xii, 322 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KHCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top