A Call to Character

A Call to Character

A Family Treasury of Stories, Poems, Plays, Proverbs, and Fables to Guide the Development of Values for You and your Children

Book - 1995
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
A literary collection includes essays about each work, and emphasizes self-discovery and character development

Blackwell North Amer
A Call to Character is a book for families that helps to bring children and parents together. In the tradition of McGuffey's Reader, A Call to Character is a family reader that includes contemporary children's stories as well as classic works. This unique collection gathers together a liberal assortment of voices from novels, short stories, plays, and poetry - both the well known and the slightly known - to enrich and enliven the child's imagination. The unusual breadth of readings illustrates lives lived according to high standards of personal character, such as courage, honesty, fairness, responsibility, compassion, empathy, generosity, and love.
The authors include selections from such beloved stories as Charlotte's Web and The Little Prince, modern favorites like A Day No Pigs Would Die and Jean Little's Listen for the Singing, inspiring classics like Invisible Man and Oliver Twist, and writings by such great leaders as Martin Luther King Jr. and Nelson Mandela. This book can be used as a touchstone for parents to recall their own childhood favorites as well as to discover new texts that will become favorites of their children.

& Taylor

A unique collection of stories, poems, proverbs, and fables by famous writers, including essays about each work, emphasizes self-discovery and character development and provides a liberal alternative to the best-selling A Book of Virtues. 75,000 first printing. $60,000 ad/promo. Tour.

Publisher: New York : HarperCollins Publishers, 1995
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780060173395
Branch Call Number: 808.8035 Ca
Characteristics: xx, 456 pages ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Kohl, Herbert R
Greer, Colin


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at KHCPL.

Try searching for A Call to Character to see if KHCPL owns related versions of the work.

To Top